EPAG Minutes
May 1, 2007
9:45-11:15, Campus Center 214

Kendrick Brown, Beth Cleary, Cheryl Contant, Terri Fishel, Ellen Guyer, Diane Michelfelder, Jayne Niemi, Joan Ostrove,  Michael Schneider, David Seitz, Wang Ping, Peter Weisensel (co-chair),  Karl Wirth (co-chair)

New members for 2007-08 present:  Dan Keyser, Pete Ferderer
New members unable to attend:  Eric Wiertelak, David Martyn

  1. The minutes from the last meeting were approved, as amended.
  2. We expressed appreciation to the current co-chairs.  Kendrick graciously agreed to chair EPAG for 2007-2008. 
  3. Religious holiday policy:  Lucy Forster-Smith will update the list of holidays of obligation to accompany the policy statement.  She will also have a web page with this information.  This will be linked from the Provost’s website and at the bottom of the academic calendar.  Holidays of obligation will also be noted on the Arts and Events calendar.  Diane noted that the first faculty meeting of 0708 will be moving because its usual date conflicts with two religious holidays.
  4. There are matters that came up in the appeals committee of EPAG (faculty members only) that need to be discussed again.  Since this doesn’t require the presence of ex officio or student members, it will happen at the end of the meeting.
  5. Global Citizenship concentration:  There is a proposal being hammered out.  Some additional consultation is being done before a document is sent to EPAG.  
  6. The IC Review Report:  We looked at the report and its recommendations.  We considered what intended role and action regarding this document should be, and the timeline.  We, in the body of the next EPAG committee, should weigh in on those items that are of curricular interest, such as the list of recommended programs.  In the meantime we can encourage the IC to develop their outreach and dialogues with departments.  Karl and Peter will draft a memo expressing our intent to Mike Monahan, and send copies to Diane and Dean Samatar.  We’ll follow up with a formal reaction in the fall, so that if there any process changes that come from our conversations, they will be done in a timely manner for implementation.
  7. At tomorrow’s faculty meeting there will be a motion about change the class schedule.  Peter will express EPAG’s support and offer the friendly amendment to start in Fall 2008 instead of January 2008.  We confirmed that there had been conversations about music ensemble and athletic practice scheduling, and how the change might affect those activities.
  8. Chairs have been asking Karl about revising and editing job descriptions.  Jane Rhodes and Diane will be reviewing the descriptions, and will contact chairs as necessary.   
  9. Diane provided updates on ES and Biology searches in case we had any allocation duties to finish up. 
  10. GER forms:  Karl had updated the request form to simplify the process of re-designation for courses.  We liked it.  We discussed whether we want to add something to the form saying what the instructor could provide for assessment purposes.  We continue to navigate carefully as we work with the policies that were passed and the varying comfort level with assessment efforts.  The 07-08 EPAG committee will have to appoint new GES chairs.  In the meantime, the current chairs will serve through the summer.  Jayne confirmed that when staffing changes for courses happens, the GE approval is no longer valid.  She will provide lists to the committee chairs of those courses that have already changed.    
  11. We developed a list of things that could be on the next committee’s agenda.
    1. Assessment.
    2. General Education courses:  consider course and instructor separation.
    3. Grade inflation.
    4. The restructuring of EPAG.
    5. Relations with Admissions.
    6. Making sure handbook is up to date with any changes we made.
    7. Discuss the concept of departments requiring study away for the major. 
  12. It was noted with glee and gratitude that this meeting was the last College committee meeting for Michael Schneider.

Adjourned 11:15  a.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Jayne Niemi, Registrar