Social Responsibility Committee
March 24, 2011 Meeting Notes


Members:        Terry Boychuk, Lloyd Cledwyn, Anna Faber, Kiarina Kordela, Brian Lindeman,                           Joanne Rhoades, Keren Yohannes, David Wheaton and Laurie Hamre. 

Guests:            Kathy Johnson and Clare Pillsbury


1.   Bottled Water Policy

      President Rosenberg responded at the end of December accepting the SRC recommendations            for a bottled water free policy and requesting a subcommittee to determine specifics of the        policy, gauge cost and feasibility of facilities renovation and outline the nature of any policy         exceptions prior to implementation.

      The subcommittee members are Lea Barron, Terry Boychuk, Brianna Besch, Cindy      Haarstad, Suzanne Hansen, Kathy Johnson, Clare Pillsbury, Doug Rosenberg, Curt      Stainbrook, David Ramlow, David Wheaton and Laurie Hamre.

2.   Social Purchasing Policy - Responsible Purchasing Policy

      Kathy and Clare reported on the Designated Suppliers Policy.  Kathy is the College liaison to             the WRC and she has moved forward with adopting the DSP.  The WRC changed the          monitoring/acknowledgement system to listing of companies.  We do not send the Apparel            Code of Conduct to vendors but rather monitor the list on the website.

      Kathy believes the system is working and Mac retail areas are complying.  Individual offices are still oblivious to the policy but the Purchasing Office continues to educate campus           departments.  Rhoades indicated there is a cost attached to the purchasing policy.

      The SRC will continue to be the place for Kathy’s reports.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.