Macalester Today Summer 2010

Winning Big

Macalester students scooped up numerous prestigious scholarships last spring.

allison jacobelAllison Jacobel ’11 (Northfield, Minn.) was awarded a $7,500 Goldwater Scholarship, one of 278 students selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of more than 1,000 math, science, and engineering students nationwide. Jacobel, a double major in geology and environmental studies, plans to earn a PhD in paleoclimatology.

Matthew Kazinka ’11 (Iowa City) was awarded a $5,000 Udall Scholarship, one of 80 students selected. Udall scholars are chosen for their commitment to a career in environmental, health care, or tribal public policy; leadership potential, and academic achievement. Kazinka is an environmental studies major with an urban studies concentration. He hopes to have a career as an organizer and innovator in the green economy.

Shelle Shimizu ’11 (Mililani, Hawaii) has been named a 2010 Truman Scholar, the eighth Mac student to receive this award. Each Truman scholar receives $30,000 for graduate study. Shimizu, a double major in political science and Asian studies, plans to pursue a joint law and master’s degree in public policy after serving in the Peace Corps. The Truman’s mission is to find and recognize college juniors with exceptional leadership potential committed to careers in public service.

Kyera Singleton ’11 (Clementon, N.J.) was awarded a $34,000 Beinecke Scholarship for graduate education. A double major in American studies and women, gender, and sexuality studies, Singleton is considering various graduate programs in which she can study history, African American studies, and post-colonial studies. Singleton was one of 20 students nationwide and the only private college student in Minnesota to receive this scholarship. • Kristin Riegel ’10 (Batavia, N.Y.) was the firstplace, $1,000 winner of the Presbyterian Outlook Church-College Partnership Award, given for the best essay written on the topic of how education at a Presbyterian Church (US A)-related college has shaped a student’s faith and prepared her for service and leadership.

Cecilia Martinez-Miranda ’13 (Makati City, Philippines) and Michael Manansala ’12 (Rochester, Minn.) won a $10,000 Davis Projects for Peace Prize. Both students are natives of the Philippines and have returned there this summer to complete their project: a sustainable garden and environment education for a shipping-container school located in a poor area outside Manila.

They plan to build a rainwater collection system, a compost bin, and an herb and vegetable garden, and to write a curriculum to educate the students about sustainable living—thus making a healthier school environment for these children, whose parents live by scavenging in a nearby garbage dump.


Colin Williams ’10 (Kent, Ohio) and Amanda Janoo ’10 (South Strafford, Vt.) have won Fulbright awards. Williams, a double major in German studies and English, received a teaching assistantship to Germany. He’ll be placed in a German high school where he will assist in teaching courses in American studies, including English language courses. Janoo, a political science major, received a research grant to India to investigate the economic competitiveness of the SE WA Trade Facilitation Center, an export-oriented grassroots textile cooperative in Ahmedabad. The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the U.S. government, is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.