Academic News

Student Life News

Career Development

Internship News

Alumni News

Study Abroad News

Civic Engagement News

College Newswire

Macalester Alumna Hawi Tilahune Wins Prestigious Rangel Fellowship

The Rangel Fellowship will provide Tilahune with approximately $95,000 in benefits over a two year period, and give her the opportunity to represent her country overseas.

2015 Alumna named Schwarzman Scholar for 2018

Anne Gavin '15, a summa cum laude Anthropology major from Mendota Heights, Minn., has been selected as one of 129 Schwarzman Scholars for 2018.

Macalester professor named 2016 Fellow in AAAS

Eric P. Wiertelak, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Psychology and Director of Neuroscience Studies, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Marlon James Named Macalester's First Writer-in-Residence

Marlon James, Macalester English professor and winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize for his novel A Brief History of Seven Killings, has been named Macalester’s first ever writer-in-residence. His appointment begins January 1, 2017.

The Macalester College Theatre and Dance Department presents Bodies in the Balance, the 2016 Fall Dance Concert

Performances are December 2 at 7:30 pm and December 3 at 2 pm and 7:30 pm in the Janet Wallace Fine Arts Center, Main Stage Theater

The Macalester College Theatre and Dance Department presents Urinetown: The Musical

Performances are 7:30 p.m., Friday and Saturday, November 4 - 5, Thursday – Saturday, Nov. 10 – 12, and 2 p.m. Sunday, November 6.

Three Macalester alumni become Trustees

Mac alumnus receives Fulbright scholarship to study in the United States

Diego Melo, from Bogotá, Colombia, has received a four-year Fulbright Foreign Student Program award to pursue graduate study.

Two Macalester rising seniors receive scholarships from the Harold S. Geneen Charitable Trust

Political Science major Emilie McGuire '17 from Park Ridge, Ill., and Economics major Forest Redlin '17, of Tempe, Ariz., have received $25,000 scholarships.

2016 Macalester alumna receives undergraduate essay award from the Association of Africanist Anthropology and an Honorable Mention for the Sylvia Forman Prize

Anthropology major Nana C E Adubea (Dubie) Toa-Kwapong '16 received awards