Special Programs Project Pericles Macalester College


Pericles Home

Grants Awarded

Program Overview

Inaugural Event

National Project Pericles

Macalester Governing Board

Civic Engagement Center

Internship Program

Institute for Global Citizenship

Center for Scholarship and Teaching

Civic Engagement Through Study Away


National Project Pericles®

Eugene Lang, a retired businessman with a history of philanthropic educational programs, envisioned Project Pericles as a catalyst for developing high quality college programs that educate for social responsibility and participatory citizenship.

Lang, who was awarded an honorary degree from Macalester College, named the initiative after Pericles who lived in the fifth century B.C. and is credited with bringing democracy to Athens and thereby laying a foundation for America's philosophy of governance and active citizenship.

A distinguished national planning committee further developed the concept and policies. Macalester College is honored to be one of ten charter members as of January 2003. Our president serves on the President's Council of Project Pericles and our Board of Trustees has endorsed our participation.

National Project Pericles Website

Periclean Colleges and Universities

The above link will direct you to the National Project Pericles website and the institutions that can refer to themselves as Pericleans.  Links are provided for those Pericleans with a dedicated Project Pericles web page.

Governance of Project Pericles®

Project Pericles is governed by its Chairman and executive staff, the Board of Directors, the Presidents’ Council, and the National Board of Advisors.

Board of Directors

Chairman: Eugene M. Lang – Founder and President, Project Pericles; Chairman Emeritus, Swarthmore College; Trustee, The New School; Founder and Chairman Emeritus, “I Have A Dream”® Foundation

Executive Director: Jan R. LissEx officio; former Associate Director, The Aspen Institute Business and Society Program; former Vice President, Strategic Planning and New Business Development, Consumers Union (publisher of Consumer Reports)

Alison R. Bernstein – Vice President, Education and Culture Program, Ford Foundation; former Assoc. Dean of Faculty, Princeton University; former Exec. Editor, Change magazine; Member, Board of Advisors, CAPHE

Alfred H. Bloom – President, Swarthmore College; former Provost, Pitzer College; former Chairman, Annapolis Group of Liberal Arts Colleges; Board Member, National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

David A. Caputo – President Emeritus, Pace University; former President, Hunter College; former Dean of Liberal Arts, Purdue University; Co-chair, Professional Standards of Teaching, N.Y.S. Board of Regents

Janet S. Dickerson - Vice President for Campus Life, Princeton University

Richard Ekman – President, Council of Independent Colleges; former Vice President for Programs, Atlantic Philanthropic Service Company; former Secretary of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Ellen V. Futter – President, American Museum of Natural History; former President, Barnard College; former Chair, Federal Reserve Bank of New York; Fellow, Academy of Arts and Sciences

Neil R. Grabois – Former Vice President, Carnegie Corporation of New York; former President, Colgate University; former Provost, Williams College

Leo M. Lambert – President, Elon University; former Provost and Vice Chancellor of University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse

Arthur E. Levine – President, Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation; former President, Teachers College (Columbia University); former Chairman, Higher Education Program, Harvard Graduate School of Education; former President, Bradford College

Michael S. McPherson – President, The Spencer Foundation; former President, Macalester College

Nancy B. Peretsman – Executive Vice President and Managing Director, Allen & Co., Inc.

Brian Rosenberg - Ex officio; Chair, Project Pericles Presidents' Council; President, Macalester College

Mark A. Vander Ploeg - Senior Managing Director, Evercore Partners

Harris L. Wofford – Chairman, America’s Promise – The Alliance for Youth; former CEO, The Corporation for National Service; former U.S. Senator; former President, Bryn Mawr College

Presidents' Council
*(Executive Committee)

Chair: Brian Rosenberg*, Macalester College
Vice-Chair: Richard Gurasci*, Wagner College

Richard J. Cook
Allegheny College
Elaine Tuttle Hansen
Bates College
Larry D. Shinn*
Berea College
Trudie Kibbe Reed
Bethune-Cookman University
Esther L. Barazzone*
Chatham College
Marvalene Hughes
Dillard University
Leo M. Lambert*
Elon University
Ralph J. Hexter
Hampshire College
J. Timothy Cloyd
Hendrix College
Michele D. Perkins
New England College

*(Executive Committee)

  Bob Kerrey
The New School
Susan Westerberg Prager
Occidental College
Stephen J. Friedman
Pace University
Laura Skandera Trombley
Pitzer College
William E. Troutt
Rhodes College
Jane Margaret O'Brien*
St. Mary's College of Maryland
Beverly Daniel Tatum
Spelman College
Alfred H. Bloom
Swarthmore College
John Strassburger*
Ursinus College
James T. Harris, III*
Widener University

National Board of Advisors
Co-Chairs: Sen. Nancy Kassebaum Baker
& Hon. Kurt L. Schmoke

  • David Baltimore
  • John Baugh
  • J. Herman Blake
  • Roger W. Bowen
  • Harry C. Boyte
  • Sen. Bill Bradley
  • Paul Brest
  • Russell L. Carson
  • Raymond G. Chambers
  • Jerome A. Chazen
  • Nadinne Cruz
  • Gov. Mario M. Cuomo
  • Richard A. Detweiler
  • Christopher F. Edley, Jr.
  • Thomas Ehrlich
  • Jonathan F. Fanton
  • Nicholas H. Farnham
  • Curtis B. Gans
  • Llewellyn P. Haden, Jr.
  • Samuel L. Hayes III
  • Antonia Hernandez
  • Amb. James C. Hormel
  • Helene L. Kaplan
  • Gov. Thomas H. Kean
  • Reuben Mark
  • Elizabeth McCormack
  • Mary Patterson McPherson
  • Paul Newman
  • Robert D. Putnam
  • Judith A. Ramaley
  • David M. Scobey
  • Ruth J. Simmons
  • Allen P. Splete


In Memoriam
Clark Kerr (co-chair)
John Nason
Sen. Paul Simon

Macalester Home | Directory | Site Map | Search

About Macalester | Academic Programs | Admissions | Alumni & Parents | Athletics
Administrative Offices | Information Services | News & Events | Student Services

Macalester College · 1600 Grand Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105 · 651-696-6000