Mayo Innovation Scholars Program

Science and Research Office

Liz Jansen
Biology Professor
Olin-Rice 220

Matthew Katsaros
Administrative Coordinator
Olin-Rice 272

Joan Toohey
Olin-Rice 271

Rebecca Hoye
Professor Emeritus, Chemistry
Olin-Rice 390

Macalester Students May Participate in Exciting Program at Mayo Clinic
The Mayo Innovation Scholars Program (MISP) is a collaborative effort between the Mayo Clinic and selected Minnesota private colleges and universities.  Teams of four undergraduate science and economics students assist in the assessment of new product submissions by researchers at Mayo Clinic. Each student team is lead by a master's level student and is advised by a project manager from the Mayo Clinic. The student teams gain valuable insights and experience in the translational process associated with product development and bringing inventions to the market. The experience culminates with a presentation of the team's research findings and a business plan to Mayo Clinic translational medicine experts, faculty from Mayo Clinic and Minnesota private colleges, and the Medtronic Foundation, in March at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN.  Financial support comes from the Medtronic Foundation and Mayo Clinic Ventures Office, and administrative support comes from the Minnesota Private College Council.  Students participating in the Mayo Innovation Scholars Program in 2015-16 are Maren Bettermann, Liang Chang, Harper Fauni, Luke Gehman, Margaret Abeles, Wilson Merrell, James Meyerson and Hanyue Xu.  For more information, contact Professor Liz Jansen . Read about the 2009-10 Mac MISP team and go to the Mayo Innovation Scholars Program Website.