For Employee

Macalester accounts, including Google Apps, 1600grand and Moodle, will be closed as of the last day of employment. If any of your email, Macalester Google Apps data or shared-drive files need to be shared, make sure to do so before the accounts are closed.

✓ Discuss with your supervisor what to do with your Macalester email account as well as hardware, software, and data that should stay with Macalester

✓ Copy and transfer your Mail and Google Drive files to another Google Account

Before you attempt to copy and transfer your mail and the contents of your Google Drive (My Drive), compare the Drive storage of your Macalester account with the available storage of you gmail.com account to make sure there’s enough space. The contents of mail and My Drive will be copied and transferred. Alternately, you may create and download an archive of your data from Google products and use Mail Fetcher to upload it to another email.
Drive storage | transfer your content | copy & transfer | create archive | Mail Fetcher instructions | download your data: FAQ |

✓ Transfer the ownership of Google Drive files to another Macalester account

Your Google Apps account will be disabled shortly after your last day of employment and then deleted. Any Google Apps documents will be deleted when your account is deleted. Transferring the ownership to a departmental account could be the best way to make sure it continues to exist after you leave.
transfer Google Docs ownership |

✓ Copy Macalester email to your personal Gmail account

IMPORTANT: It can take up to a week to migrate all your mail, so don’t wait to start moving it! Use Google’s Mail Fetcher tool or Google Takeout to copy your existing email to another Gmail account.
|  Google Takeout |

✓ Take your contacts, too!

Export your contacts to Google CSV format for importing into a another email account.
export contacts | import contacts |

✓ Do you have any Google Calendars you’ve shared with the department?

You may grant another user access to edit and make changes to a calendar, but once your account is deleted, the calendar will also be deleted. Export the calendar’s events and import them into the new calendar before the account is deleted to prevent losing the calendar.
transfer ownership of a calendar: you can’t  | import or export a calendar |

✓ Share Google Sites ownership with another account

Share the ownership of your Google Sites with another Google account–it doesn’t have to be a Macalester account–otherwise the Site will be deleted when your account is deleted.
Share your site with other people |

✓ Transfer ownership of blog

The short answer is that you can do this by making the blog in question a team blog, with two members, then removing the original team member.
move a blog between accounts |

✓ Move any personal files away from H Drive

Copy any personal files from the your H Drive to another medium, including a flash drive, external hard drive, or cloud storage. Any files left in your H Drive will be deleted. What about your public www page?
| smb://files.macalester.edu/users | connect to H Drive |

✓ Delete voicemail messages

Your voicemail account will be deleted one day after your departure, so be sure to review and delete any existing voicemail messages.
delete voicemail messages |

For Supervisor

✓ Prepare for employee’s account closing

Prepare for employee’s Macalester accounts closing, usually the last day of employment. Employment Services, not ITS, approves and arranges extending the account expiration date of an exiting employee.
limited extension of account |

✓ Confirm the ownership of Google Apps documents, blogs, and accounts to from exiting employee to another Macalester account

Confirm the transfer of ownership of Google Docs and shared ownership of Google Sites and Blogs from exiting employee to another Macalester account, preferably a departmental account since those accounts are not likely to be deleted.
transfer Google Docs ownership  |  transfer ownership of Google Sites |

✓ Export/Import Shared Google calendars’ Events

You may grant another user access to edit and make changes to a calendar, but once your account is deleted, the calendar will also be deleted. Export the calendar’s events and import them into the new calendar before the account is deleted to prevent losing the calendar.
transfer ownership of a calendar: you can’t  | import or export a calendar |

✓ Reset password of departmental email accounts

If the exiting employee knows the passwords to departmental or shared accounts, a password reset is recommended.
forgot password | password.macalester.edu  |

✓ Decide what will happen with the computer and its data left behind by the exiting employee

Exiting employee’s computer data can be saved, stored, or shared; otherwise all data will be deleted when the computer is re-imaged and made ready for the next employee.
computer and its data left behind by the exiting employee |