To make a smooth transition from student to Macalester alum, review the information about the lifespan of your Mac email, docs, stored files, and other Google Apps accounts.
Keep the data you’ve accumulated as a student
October 1 2020. That’s your deadline. Your Macalester accounts, including Google Drive documents, 1600grand, Moodle, etc., will be disabled as of October 1, 2020. If you have email and docs in your Google Drive you want to take with you, make sure you copy & transfer and change ownership before the deadline.
✓ Copy and transfer your Mail and Google Drive files to another Google Account
Does your Gmail account have enough storage to copy & transfer your Macalester email and docs? The contents of your Macalester mail and My Drive will be copied and transferred. Alternately, you may create and download an archive of your Google products data.
✓ Enable vacation responder to notify contacts your account will discontinue soon
Set up a vacation responder to automatically notify people that your Macalester account will be closing soon, include an alternate email address. When people send you a message, they’ll receive an email response containing what you’ve written in your auto reply.
✓ Set up an email signature with your alternative email address
An email signature is text, like your contact information or a favorite quote, that’s automatically added at the end of email messages as a footer. Add your alternative email address to your Macalester account’s signature to let people know you have an alternative email address.
✓ Forward your macalester.edu email to another account
Email will be forwarded until your account is closed. Existing email will not be forwarded.
Google Drive Checklist
✓ Think about your collaborators. Transfer the Ownership of Google Drive Docs, Folders and Files to another Macalester account
Don’t leave your collaborators without their work! IMPORTANT: You must change the owner of each individual Google Drive file, changing the ownership of a folder does not change the ownership of the files stored within. Before changing the owner of Google Drive documents to another Macalester account, be sure to archive or copy any documents you want to keep. Google Drive documents will be deleted when your account is deleted. Student workers, you should transfer the ownership to a departmental account to make sure it continues to exist after you leave.
More Google Things Checklist
✓ Unlink third-party sites or apps you’ve linked with Google
✓ Take your contacts, too!
Export your contacts to Google CSV format for importing into a another email account.
✓ Change the owner of Google Sites
Change the owner of a Classic or New Google Site with another Macalester account, otherwise the Site will be deleted when your account is deleted.
✓ Transfer ownership of blog
The short answer is that you can do this by making the blog in question a team blog, with two members, then removing the original team member.
✓ Take an archive of Google+ stream, Maps, YouTube, and more
Create an archive with your data from Google products including Google+ Stream, Maps, YouTube and more.
| Google Takeout |
✓ Move personal files away from H drive
Copy personal files from the your H Drive to another medium, including a flash drive, external hard drive, or cloud storage. Any files left in your H Drive will be deleted. | smb://files.macalester.edu/users
✓ Download any Moodle documents you want to keep
Download any Moodle assignments you want to keep before your Moodle account closes.
| moodle |
✓ Print your unofficial transcript
Print your unofficial transcript before your 1600grand account closes.
✓ Keep in touch
Join MacDirect, Macalester’s online alumni community. Update your email address by editing your Contact tab. While you’re there, update your mailing address and phone number too. You can also email contact info updates to email@example.com.
✓ Read email from campus distribution lists
Email posts from campus distribution lists, including Studentfirstname.lastname@example.org will continue to be sent to your Macalester account until your account is disabled.