Backup your data to the cloud

  • Google’s Backup and Sync – 15GB of free storage on Gmail accounts | Upload and store files from any folder on your computer in the cloud. Backup and Sync info
  • Apple’s iCloud – 5GB of free iCloud storage to start |  iCloud automatically backs up your iOS devices when they’re connected to power and Wi-Fi. Apple’s iCloud info

Backup your whole computer – pay for an external hard drive

macOS Apple’s Time Machine

  1. Plug in your USB hard drive.
  2. Make sure your new USB drive is totally empty since Time Machine will usually erase the drive before backing up your computer.
  3. Open the Apple menu and then choose System Preferences…
  4. Click Time Machine.
  5. Click Select Disk.
  6. Choose your USB hard drive from the list and select Use Disk.
  7. You’re done! Your Mac will back itself up automatically from now on. If you’re using a MacBook, make sure to plug in your hard drive regularly so it can save your files!

Windows 10 automatic full backups

  1. Open Control Panel.
  2. Click System and Security.
  3. Click Backup and Restore (Windows 7).
  4. Click Set up backup .
  5. Select the external drive you want to use to store the backup.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Under What do you want to backup? you can select the Let Windows Choose, but to make sure everything is backed up, select the Let me choose option.
  8. Click Next.
  9. Check all the items you want to protect, and because we’re creating a full backup, it’s recommended to select every item under Data Files and Computer.
  10. Check the Include a system of drives: System Reserved, (C:) option.
  11. Click Next.
  12. On Schedule, click the Change schedule link.
  13. Use the available drop-down menus to select how often, what day, and what time, you want the backup to run. (It’s best to select a time that you know you won’t be actively using your device.
  14. Click OK.
  15. Review your settings, and then click the Save settings and exit button.
    Once you’ve completed the steps, the backup process will begin. Click View Details to see what’s being backed up, and you’ll also see an option to stop the process as necessary.