St. Paul, Minn. – Macalester College has granted tenure status to the following seven faculty members: Andrew Beveridge, Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Science; Sarah Boyer, Biology; John Cannon, Physics & Astronomy; Devavani Chatterjea, Biology; Kristi Curry Rogers, Biology & Geology; Christina Esposito, Linguistics; and Kathryn Splan, Chemistry.

Beveridge, who specializes in random processes on graphs, random walks on graphs and network structures generated by random processes, received his PhD and MS from Yale University and his BA from Williams College. 

Boyer, who studies the diversity and evolution of animal life using phylogenetic tools, received her PhD from Harvard University, her MA from the University of California, Berkeley and her BA from Swarthmore College.

Cannon, who studies the nature and evolution of nearby, low-mass galaxies, received his PhD from the University of Minnesota and his BS from the University of Iowa.

Chatterjea, an immunologist who studies the development of T cells, stromal cell signaling in the bone marrow and the roles of mast cells in the initiation of inflammatory pain, received her PhD from Stanford University and her BA from Mount Holyoke College. 

Curry Rogers, a vertebrate paleontologist who studies dinosaur evolution and paleobiology, received her PhD and MSc from Stony Brook University, and her BS from Montana State University.

Esposito, who researches the production and perception of voice quality in a variety of languages such as White Hmong, Zapotec, Gujarati, and English received her PhD from the University of California, Los Angeles, and her BA from the State University of New York at Albany.

Splan, who researches the chemistry of metal ions in the context of biological processes, received her PhD from Northwestern University and her BS from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Macalester College, founded in 1874, is a national liberal arts college with a full-time enrollment of 2,035 students. Macalester is nationally recognized for its long-standing commitment to academic excellence, internationalism, multiculturalism, and civic engagement. Learn more at

January 14 2013

Back to top