St. Paul, Minn. – The Teagle Foundation has appointed Brian Rosenberg and Elizabeth Boylan to its Board of Directors.  They join 14 other directors on a board chaired by Walter C. Teagle, III.

Foundation President Judith R. Shapiro states, “We are honored that these two distinguished colleagues have agreed to join the Teagle Foundation board. Their extensive experience in academe and commitment to the value of liberal education will further enrich our efforts to support student learning in the arts and sciences.  I look forward to working with them in pursuit of the Foundation’s mission.”

Brian Rosenberg has served as president of Macalester College since August 2003. Rosenberg is active nationally on issues related to education, serving as a member of the Leadership Circle of the Presidents’ Climate Commitment, the Council on Foreign Relations’ Higher Education Working Group, the Presidents’ Trust of the Association of American Colleges and Universities, the Presidents’ Advisory Board of the Bonner Foundation, and the board of Wallin Education Partners. He is a past chair of the board of the Associated Colleges of the Midwest, of the American Council on Education’s Commission on International Initiatives, and of the Presidents’ Council of Project Pericles. He is also a member of the board of directors of Allina Health.  Prior to becoming president of Macalester, Rosenberg was dean of the faculty and an English professor at Lawrence University in Appleton, Wisconsin. Rosenberg served as an English professor and chair of the English department at Allegheny College in Meadville, Pennsylvania, from 1983 to 1998.  A Charles Dickens scholar, he has written numerous articles on the Victorian author and other subjects as well as two books: Mary Lee Settle’s Beulah Quintet: The Price of Freedom and Little Dorrit’s Shadows: Character and Contradiction in Dickens. Rosenberg served as a trustee of the Dickens Society from 2000 to 2004.  A native of New York City, he received a BA from Cornell University and an MA and PhD in English from Columbia University.

Elizabeth Boylan directs the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation’s programs on STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) Higher Education, including programs for the education and professional advancement of underrepresented groups and for the study and improvement of STEM student learning and performance.  Boylan came to the Foundation after 16 years at Barnard College where she served as Provost and Dean of the Faculty and professor of Biological Sciences.   From 1996 to 2000, she served on the Commission for Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.  She was also a member of the Leadership Network for International Education of the American Council on Education and the Advisory Board of Project Kaleidoscope. Prior to her work at Barnard, Boylan was associate provost for academic planning and programs at Queens College/CUNY.  She was a tenured member of the biology faculty at Queens College and the CUNY Graduate Center. A specialist in developmental biology and hormonal carcinogenesis, Boylan earned a PhD in zoology/embryology from Cornell University and a bachelor’s degree in biological sciences from Wellesley College.  She was a pre-doctoral fellow at the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole and a postdoctoral fellow in biochemistry and oncology at the University of Rochester Medical Center.

The Teagle Foundation was established in 1944 by Walter C. Teagle (1878 – 1962), longtime President and later Chairman of the Board of Standard Oil Company (New Jersey), now Exxon Mobil Corporation. The Foundation intends to be an influential national voice and a catalyst for change in higher education to improve undergraduate student learning in the arts and sciences. Visit for detailed descriptions of these projects as well as for more information on the Foundation and all its programs.

Macalester College, founded in 1874, is a national liberal arts college with a full-time enrollment of 2,011 students. Macalester is nationally recognized for its long-standing commitment to academic excellence, internationalism, multiculturalism, and civic engagement. Learn more at

January 16 2014

Back to top