Academics News

Student Life News

Career Development News

Internships News

Alumni News

Study Abroad News

Civic Engagement News

College Newswire

Sociology Graduate Receives National Paper Award

The American Sociological Association's Section on Racial & Ethnic Minorities has awarded recent grad Mahala Miller the 2017 Joe Feagin Distinguished Undergraduate Student Paper Award.

Macalester receives $800,000 grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

The grant is to expand multicultural, international, and transnational perspectives across campus.

Macalester president signs “We Are Still In” statement supporting Paris Climate Accord

President Brian Rosenberg has joined many college and university presidents in signing the “We Are Still In” statement, declaring their continued support of the Paris Climate Accord.

Three Macalester students receive U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarships

Gianna Brassil ’20, from San Francisco, Calif., Grey Micah ’17, from Gillsburg, Mississippi, and Angelo Bautista Perez ’19, from Chicago, Ill., have been awarded the scholarships.

Nine alumni to be honored at Macalester Reunion in June

Two medical doctors, a former pharmaceutical executive, an activist, and an artist, are five of nine alumni to be honored

Two Macalester students undertake projects to promote peace in Senegal and Mozambique

The students’ grants are from the Davis Projects for Peace initiative funded by the late philanthropist Kathryn Wasserman Davis, who launched Projects for Peace on the occasion of her 100th birthday in 2007.

Nancy Bostrom, Assistant Director of Assessment, Receives the 2017 Staff Outstanding Service Award

In celebration of the ways in which her work has shaped Macalester and strengthened departments and programs all over campus.

Physics Professor James Heyman Receives Jack and Marty Rossmann Excellence in Teaching Award

For superb work in front of the classroom and in the lab, inspiring countless students and colleagues.

Four seniors and one alumna receive 2017 Fulbright Awards

Seniors Gretchen Greene received a Research/Study Fulbright to Switzerland, Jonah Lazarus, an Arts Fulbright to Brazil, Catriona Leckie and Christina Moore, English Teaching Assistant Fulbrights to Germany, and Rachel Rostad '15, an English Teaching Assistant Fulbright to Korea.