Academics News

Student Life News

Career Development News

Internships News

Alumni News

Study Abroad News

Civic Engagement News

College Newswire

Five Macalester alumni and one student receive U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarships (CLS)

"Critical" languages are those that are less commonly taught in U.S. schools, but are essential for America’s engagement with the world.

Macalester student receives Boren Scholarship

Gianna Brassil ’20 will be studying Azerbaijani at the Azerbaijan Language University in Baku, Azerbaijan, next year for six months on a full government scholarship.

Alumni to be honored at Macalester Reunion in June

Reunion 2018 will be held on campus June 8-10

Five seniors receive 2018 Fulbright Awards

Russell Fillmore-Brady and Carsten Haas both received an English Teaching Assistant (ETA) Fulbright to Germany, Jennifer Chung received an English Teaching Assistant Fulbright to Brazil, Andrea Kvietok received a Research Fulbright Grant to Senegal, and Caroline Peters received an English Teaching Assistant Fulbright to Colombia.

Fred Swaniker, Founder of African Leadership University, to speak at Macalester Commencement

Commencement will be held at 1:30 p.m., Saturday, May 12, at the college.

Macalester Community Members Receive Awards from Minnesota Campus Compact and Campus Compact

Macalester community members have received three Presidents' Awards from Minnesota Campus Compact.

Brad Belbas, Academic Information Associate for Social Sciences, Receives the Staff Outstanding Service Award

In celebration of the ways your work has shaped Macalester’s classrooms and supported departments, faculty members, and students across campus, we are proud to offer you the 2018 Staff Outstanding Service Award.

Anthropology Professor Olga González Receives Jack and Marty Rossmann Excellence in Teaching Award

The award recognizes “a faculty member who has been identified by colleagues and students as exemplifying the teaching goals of Macalester College.”

Spanish & Portuguese Professor Galo F. González Receives Thomas Jefferson Award

The award was established in 1961 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation to honor faculty members who exemplify the principles and ideals of Thomas Jefferson.