Community Recognition Awards 2017-2018

Each spring, the Macalester community comes together to recognize the individual students, organizations, staff and faculty who have made meaningful contributions to the Macalester co-curricular experience. As the year draws to a close, it is important that we pause to honor these contributions and collectively celebrate one another’s accomplishments. All faculty, staff, and students are invited to submit nominations.

Nominees and recipients were recognized at the Community Recognition Awards Convocation, held on Tuesday, April 24, 2018 in the Hill Ballroom (Kagin Commons).


Presidential Leadership Award for Outstanding Seniors

This award recognizes seniors for their scholarship and outstanding contributions to the Macalester community throughout their college careers.

The recipients from the Class of 2018 were:

  • Saakshi Daswani (Mumbai, India)
  • Maxine Freedman (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Zeena Fuleihan (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Ariana Hones (Ripon, Wisconsin)
  • Myhana Kerr (Mableton, Georgia)
  • Rachel Lieberman (Wilmette, Illinois)
  • Giselle Lora (Troy, New York)
  • Diana Luc (Honolulu, Hawaii)
  • Ayaan Natala (St Paul, Minnesota)
  • Yuri Smith (Reston, Virginia)
  • Millie Varley (Johnston, Iowa)

To be considered for this award, a student must:

  • Be a member of the senior class in good academic standing (GPA of 3.3 is required);
  • Have a history of significant contributions in a variety of areas of campus life throughout their career at Macalester College;
  • Have been a positive role model at Macalester College;
  • Have worked to promote one or more of the core values of the college (i.e. internationalism, multiculturalism, or service)

The Hamre Award

The Hamre Award, named for Laurie Hamre, former Macalester Vice President for Student Affairs, is presented annually to at least one member of each class.  The award honors students who live out the mission of the college not only by promoting one or more of Macalester’s stated values, but also by demonstrating a genuine love of the community through service to the college.

The winners in 2017-18 were:

  • Nadia Berriel ’18 (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Lilian Vo ’18 (Seattle, Washington)
  • Soniya Coutinho ’19 (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
  • Karinna Gerhardt ’20 (Seattle, Washington)
  • Ikran Sheikh-Mursal ’20 (Shakopee, Minnesota)
  • Elliot Wareham ’21 (Hudson, Wisconsin)

To be considered for this award, a student must:

  • Have demonstrated efforts to promote college values during the current academic year;
  • Be enrolled full-time at Macalester College;
  • Be in good academic standing (minimum GPA of 2.7)

The Servant-Leader Award

The Servant-Leader Award recognizes those whose actions are congruent with their values, and who thus inspire others to develop their own leadership potential. Servant leaders exhibit outstanding leadership skills and often serve as guide or facilitator.  They listen intently, demonstrate compassion and maintain a sense of ethics and humility.

The recipients for 2017-18 were:

  • Sarah Kolenbrander ’18 (Belmont, Maryland)
  • Sarah Matzdorf ’18 (Rensselaer, New York)
  • Amritha Subramaniam ’20 (Bangalore, India)
  • Allegra Wyatt ’18 (Portland, Oregon)
  • Rachel Wong ’19 (Avondale Estates, Georgia)
  • Hamzah Yaacob ’20 (Singapore, Singapore)

The Ann Bolger Vision Award

The Ann Bolger Vision Award is named in honor of Ann Bolger, who was the Director of Residential Life at Macalester from 1993 to 1999.  The Vision award recognizes efforts to bring about positive organizational change or inspiring creative endeavors that contributed to the educational experience of students in a thoughtful, collaborative and informed fashion.

For 2017-18, the recipients were:

  • Molly Flerlage ’18 (Maple City, Michigan)
  • Hannah Gray ’18 (South Pasadena, California)
  • Iris Parshley ’18 (Portland, Oregon)

The Civil Discourse Award

The Civil Discourse Award is given in recognition of efforts to promote on-campus civil discourse around issues related to difference and inclusivity. The award may be given to individuals, groups or organizations for their work to increase understanding and dialogue among members of the Macalester community through programming, education and negotiation.

The recipients of this award for 2017-18 were:

  • Maxine Freedman ’18 (Chicago, Illinois), Tasneem Issa ’18 (St Paul, Minnesota) and Mara Steinitz ’18 (Arlington, Maryland)
  • Min Hee Cho ’19 (Vernon Hills, Illinois)