Macalester Students Participate in Exciting Program at Mayo Clinic
The Mayo Innovation Scholars Program (MISP) is a collaborative effort between the Mayo Clinic and selected Minnesota private colleges and universities.  Teams of four undergraduate science and economics students assist in the assessment of new product submissions by researchers at Mayo Clinic. Each student team is lead by a master’s level student and is advised by a project manager from the Mayo Clinic. The teams gain valuable insights and experience in the translational process associated with product development and bringing inventions to the market. The experience culminates with a presentation of the team’s research findings and a business plan to Mayo Clinic translational medicine experts, and faculty from Mayo Clinic and Minnesota private colleges each March at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN.  Financial support comes from the Medtronic Foundation, the Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation, Mayo Clinic Ventures Office, and administrative support comes from the Minnesota Private College Council.  Students participating in the Mayo Innovation Scholars Program in 2017-18 are Preeta Raghunathan, Joshua Doyle, Kelsey Porter and Li Fan .  For more information, contact Professor Liz Jansen . Read about the 2009-10 Mac MISP team and go to the Mayo Innovation Scholars Program Website.

This program runs from October thru March. Students must be available during Macalester’s fall break, over the month of January and on March 7 and 8th.   Application deadline is September 24, 2018 at Noon.  To apply, send cover letter describing your interest and understanding of the requirements of the program, the names of two faculty who can speak to your abilities (letters are not required at this time), resume and transcript (unofficial is okay) to