Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Toggle Navigation Menu

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is Macalester’s overall governance body. The board does not actively manage the college on a daily basis but delegates that responsibility to the president. The board’s primary responsibilities are to hire and evaluate the president; set broad policy and goals for the college and evaluate its performance against those goals; actively participate in fund raising and philanthropic support to advance the college’s mission; approve the president’s tenure decisions; and oversee college financial affairs and investments.


Carrie Norbin Killoran ’94, Chair
Rebecca B. Van Dyck ’91, P’24, Vice Chair
Robin Jackson Colman ’78, Vice Chair
D. Christian Koch ’87, Treasurer
Sandra R. Ortiz ’97, Secretary


Carrie Norbin Killoran ’94, Chair
  • Carrie Norbin Killoran ’94, Chair
  • President, GM PSA and Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center, Advocate Aurora Health; Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Kofi Amoo-Gottfried ’01
  • Kofi Amoo-Gottfried ’01
  • Chief Marketing Officer, DoorDash; South Orange, New Jersey
Jennifer Brahm P’20
  • Jennifer Brahm P’20
  • Community Volunteer; San Francisco, California
Karen J. Brasel ’87
  • Karen J. Brasel ’87
  • Professor of Surgery, Division of Trauma, Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery, Oregon Health and Science University; Lake Oswego, Oregon
Theodore D. Clement ’06
  • Theodore D. Clement ’06
  • Attorney – Real Estate/Land Use Practice, Fried Frank; New York, New York
Robin Jackson Colman ’78
  • Robin Jackson Colman ’78
  • Retired Vice President, Compensation and Benefits, eBay; Pasadena, California
Jerry Crawford ’71
  • Jerry Crawford ’71
  • Senior Partner, Crawford Law Firm; Des Moines, Iowa
The Honorable Michael J. Davis ’69
  • The Honorable Michael J. Davis ’69
  • Senior United States District Judge, United States District Court; Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mihir Desai ’90
  • Mihir Desai ’90
  • President and Chief Executive Officer, Dexis Incorporated; Washington, DC
Edward Deutschlander ’93, P’22
  • Edward Deutschlander ’93, P’22
  • Chief Executive Officer, Northstar Resource Group; Lakeway, Texas
Edward Donkor ’04
  • Edward Donkor ’04
  • Managing Director, Apax Partners; New York, New York
Broderick C. Grubb ’73
  • Broderick C. Grubb ’73
  • Owner, BRK Insurance Group, LLC; New Orleans, Louisiana
Timothy D. Hart-Andersen P’11
  • Timothy D. Hart-Andersen P’11
  • Senior Pastor, Westminster Presbyterian Church; Minneapolis, Minnesota
Patricia Elizabeth “Liz” Hume ’92
  • Patricia Elizabeth “Liz” Hume ’92
  • Attending Physician, San Francisco Free Clinic; Mill Valley, California
Aukse Jurkute ’98
  • Aukse Jurkute ’98
  • Managing Director, Equity Capital Markets, Bank of America; London, United Kingdom
D. Christian (Chris) Koch ’87
  • D. Christian (Chris) Koch ’87
  • Chief Executive Officer, The Carlisle Companies, Inc.; Scottsdale, Arizona
Mark G. Leonard ’65, P’10
  • Mark G. Leonard ’65, P’10
  • Retired Engineer, Hewlett Packard Corporation; Los Altos, California
Seth J. Levine ’94
  • Seth J. Levine ’94
  • Co-Founder and Principal, Foundry; Longmont, Colorado
Sonny Lulla ’93
  • Sonny Lulla ’93
  • Co-Founder and Managing Member, Franklin Park; Pasadena, California
Alice Mortenson
  • Alice Mortenson
  • Chair of the Board and President, Mortenson Family Foundation; Edina, Minnesota
Paul L. H. Olson ’72
  • Paul L. H. Olson ’72
  • Board Director and Executive Advisor, Liaison Technologies; North Oaks, Minnesota
Sandra R. Ortiz ’97
  • Sandra R. Ortiz ’97
  • Senior Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, Capital Markets and Agency Services, Wilmington Trust; Washington, DC
Amy Pahl ’90
  • Amy Pahl ’90
  • Principal and Consulting Actuary, Milliman; Hampton, Minnesota
Gloria Perez ’88
  • Gloria Perez ’88
  • Chief Executive Officer, Women’s Foundation of Minnesota; Minneapolis, Minnesota
Sara L. Peterson ’72
  • Sara L. Peterson ’72
  • Principal Counsel, Bechtel Corporation; Sonoma, California
Suzanne M. Rivera (ex officio)
  • Suzanne M. Rivera (ex officio)
  • President, Macalester College; St. Paul, Minnesota
Paul J. Strand ’71
  • Paul J. Strand ’71
  • Retired Dean, College of Arts and Letters, San Diego State University; San Diego, California
Greg Thompson ’84
  • Greg Thompson ’84
  • Executive Director, Corporate Communications & Public Affairs, Health Care Service Corporation; Chicago, Illinois
Rebecca B. Van Dyck ’91, P’24
  • Rebecca B. Van Dyck ’91, P’24
  • Former Chief Operating Officer, Meta Reality Labs; Palo Alto, California
Annette Mortinson Whaley ’75
  • Annette Mortinson Whaley ’75
  • Community Volunteer; Mendota Heights, Minnesota

2022-2023 Board of Trustees Liaisons

Renée Ryan P’25, Parent Council Liaison
Seattle, Washington

Rebecca Gentry ’23, Student Liaison
Dayton, Ohio

Justin Brandon ’00, Alumni Board Liaison
Raleigh, North Carolina