Merit Scholarship Awards

Your Toolbox

Financial Aid Office
651-696-6866 (fax )

Mailing Address
1600 Grand Avenue
St. Paul, MN
55105 USA

The Admissions and Financial Aid Offices are located at 62 Macalester Street.

In 2015-2016, over 40%of U.S. first-year students received merit-based scholarships from Macalester.  Merit scholarship awards range from $8,000 to $72,000 over four years.

All applicants are considered for merit-based scholarships. No additional scholarship application is required. Students selected for merit-based scholarships are notified by the Admissions Office, shortly after admission notices are sent.

DeWitt Wallace Distinguished Scholarships are awarded on a highly competitive basis to some students who are National Merit Finalists or Commended students. The Admissions committee makes these awards. No special application is required to be considered for this scholarship. If you have been awarded a DeWitt Wallace Distinguished Scholarship, it will be renewed at the same amount each year you are enrolled at Macalester, provided that you make satisfactory progress toward graduation.

Catharine Lealtad Scholarships are named for Macalester’s first African American graduate, Catharine Lealtad ’15. These scholarships are awarded to selected African American, Latino, and Native American students with strong high school records. The Admissions committee selects recipients. There is no special application to complete. Lealtad Scholarships will be renewed at the same amount for each year you are enrolled at Macalester, provided that you make satisfactory progress toward graduation.

Macalester College National Merit Scholarships are awarded to National Merit Finalists who have designated Macalester as their first-choice college.

The Charles J. Turck Presidential Honor Scholarship is awarded to a limited number of international students who demonstrate special potential to excel academically and contribute significantly to the Macalester community. The scholarships range from $10,000 to $15,000 per year. Every international applicant is automatically considered for the Turck Scholarship -- no special application is required.

Related: Non-Need-Based Scholarship Policy