St. Paul, Minn. – The Macalester Theater and Dance Department presents Richard O’Brien’s The Rocky Horror Show, directed by Harry Waters Jr. The production runs Thursday-Saturday, October 31-November 2 and November 7-9 all at 7:30 p.m. There are also two midnight performances, on Saturday November 2 and Friday November 8. Performances will take place in the Macalester theater in the Janet Wallace Fine Arts Center, 130 South Macalester Street, St. Paul.

The first musical in the new Theater and Dance Building, Richard O’Brien’s out-of-this-world event features elaborate dancing, wild singing, and alluring surprises.

Tickets are $10 general admission and $5 for Macalester students, faculty, staff, and alumni. For ticket information, go to or call 651-696-6359.

“It’s an opportunity to be a part of something unique and tailored to the Macalester community,” says Director Harry Waters Jr. “Audience costumes and participation are encouraged. Break out the fishnet stockings and red lipstick you’ve been saving for a special pleasure occasion. It’s a non-binary celebration. Come on now: Don’t Dream It, Be It!”

Waters Jr. is a professor in the Theater and Dance Department at Macalester and was also recently appointed associate dean of the college’s Kofi Annan Institute for Global Citizenship. The rest of the production team includes: Adam Baus (music director), Sandy Agustin (choreographer), Thomas Barrett (scenic designer), Kathy Maxwell (media designer), Karin Olson (lighting designer), Lynn Farrington (costume designer), Jessica Yates ’22 (assistant director), Chesare Cipriano ’20 (stage manager), Molly O’Brien ’22 (assistant stage manager), and Kira Schukar ’22 (assistant stage manager).

The cast includes Grace Armon ’22, Galesburg, Ill; Kiran Arquin ’22, Saint Paul, Minn; Ron Barrett, Macalester Anthropology professor, Alameda, Calif; Asa Benjamin ’23, Austin, Texas; James Crutcher ’22, San Francisco, Calif’ Emma Curtis ’22, Armory, Wis; Asher de Forest ’21, Kirkland, Wash; Zack Dizdar ’20, Kyrenia, Cyprus; Betsy Foy ’22, Omaha, Neb; Pierce Hastings ’22, St. Louis, Mo; Elinor Jones ’21, Fort Collins, Colo; Maddy Kennard ’21, Seattle, Wash; Kalala Kiwanuka-Woernle ’22, Boston, Mass; Ndunzi Kunsunga ’22, Saint Louis Park, Minn; Katie Massell ’21, Burlington, Vt; Ethan Moskal ’20, Chicago, Ill; Jess Nguyen ’22, Hanoi, Vietnam; Abigail Poole ’20, Columbia, S.C.; Ruby Rich ’23, Ardmore, Penn; Phoebe Thoroughman ’23, University City, Mo; Matthew Trager ’23, Mazomanie, Wis; and Elliot Wareham ’21, Hudson, Wis.

Learn more about Macalester College at

October 18 2019

Back to top