Academics News

Student Life News

Internships News

Alumni News

College Newswire

Photo of President Suzanne M. Rivera speaking at her Inauguration.

Macalester College inaugurates Dr. Suzanne M. Rivera as its 17th president

On October 9, 2021, Macalester formally inaugurated Dr. Suzanne M. Rivera as the college’s 17th president.

Dr. Kathryn Kay Coquemont

Macalester Selects New Dean of Students

Dr. Kathryn Kay Coquemont will become the college’s Associate Vice President and Dean of Students. She will begin her new role January 2022.

President Suzanne Rivera

Pres. Rivera named to board of College Possible

President Suzanne Rivera has been named to the national board of directors of College Possible, a national college access and success nonprofit.

Maccolades Sept 2021

Maccolades for September 2021: Mac at the UN, a new textbook, and students recognized for caring

Maccolades is a monthly round-up of the most recent accolades and accomplishments earned by members of the Macalester community.

Photo of the Macalester College sign in front of campus.

Macalester College Board of Trustees Announces Policies That Reduce Oil and Gas Investments

President Rivera

Pres. Rivera named to national advisory board for college-access non-profit

Macalester College President Suzanne Rivera will be joining other university presidents, CEOs, a former state secretary of education, and nonprofit leaders from across the country as a founding member of a National Advisory Board that will help a Delaware-based college-access organization expand the reach of its work to empower Black, Latino, and low-income students.

New Minn. Art Exhibition Includes Work By Four Macalester Professors

When the Minnesota Museum of American Art’s new exhibition Many Waters: A Minnesota Biennial opens on July 24, it will include work produced by Macalester professors Ruthann Godollei, Megan Vossler, Tia-Simone Gardner, and John Kim. 

Sun Tun

Mac student wins first-ever award for aspiring paleontologists of color

Sun Tun '22 is the first student in the nation to receive the Society of Vertebrate Paleontology’s (SVP) inaugural Futures Award and the $5,000 summer research stipend and professional mentorship that come with it. 

Students create first-ever online guide for Twin Cities’ Russian-speaking community

Students in Prof. Julia Chadaga's Advanced Russian class produced the map to connect the Twin Cities Russian-speaking community.