The Student Employment Advisory Committee acts as a liaison to the Office of Student Employment and works to foster a program that effectively serves student employees, supervisors, and the College. SEAC addresses the concerns of faculty, staff and students with regard to student employment and of those who supervise student employees. The committee also serves the Student Employment Office in an advisory capacity in determining the current and future direction of student employment at Macalester College.

SEAC meets monthly and is comprised of campus-wide representatives. Members agree to serve a consecutive three-year term. It is each representative’s responsibility to maintain contact with the sector he/she/they represent. Any issues or concerns should be brought to the committee’s attention through the sector representative.


2022-2023 SEAC Representatives

Small Employers

  • Kelsey Fox, Communications (2nd year)
  • Carla Zelada, History/ Classical Mediterranean & Middle East (2nd year)
  • Claire Edwards, Event Management (1st year)

Medium Employers

  • Brooke Schmolke, Information Technology Services (3rd year)
  • Markku Makinen, Residential Life (1st year)

Large Employers

  • LaReina Adams, Library (2nd year)
  • Stephanie Alden, MAX Center (1st year)

Student Representatives:

  • Sylvia Choi
  • Ben Christensen

Additional Advisory Members

  • Jaelynn Blenkush, Employment Services, ex-officio
  • Jenae Schmidt, Financial Aid, Advisory Member


Student Employee of the Year: Now Accepting Nominations!

We are accepting nominations for Macalester’s Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY)! The intent of this award is to recognize the outstanding contributions and achievements that student employees make at Macalester. It is with gratitude and joy we recognize these students for their achievements in their student employee positions. In addition to the Student Employee of the Year, the selection committee will recognize multiple Outstanding Student Employees. Macalester’s SEOTY winner will be submitted for State, Regional and National consideration. The Student Employment Advisory Committee (SEAC) will be reviewing nominations and selecting the SEOTY. The deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, February 20th. 

Nominations can be submitted via this GoogleForm.