The Board of Trustees is Macalester's overall governance body. The board does not actively manage the college on a daily basis but delegates that responsibility to the president. The board's primary responsibilities are to hire and evaluate the president; set broad policy and goals for the college and evaluate its performance against those goals; actively participate in fund raising and philanthropic support to advance the college's mission; approve the president's tenure decisions; and oversee college financial affairs and investments.


Jerry Crawford '71, Chair
Steven C. Euller '71, Vice Chair
Susan Dunst Schwartz '71, Vice Chair
Paul L.H. Olson '72, Treasurer
Patricia R. Hurley '82, P '10, Secretary


Jerry Crawford
Jerry Crawford '71, Chair
Senior Partner, Crawford and Mauro Law Firm, Des Moines, Iowa

Peter W. Ahn
Peter W. Ahn '87
Partner, Hemisphere Companies, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Anne Crandall Campbell
Anne Crandall Campbell '82
Coach/Leader, Wholesome Adventures, Londonderry, Vermont

image placeholder
Robin Jackson Colman '78
Vice President, Compensation, Benefits and M & A, eBay, Altadena, California

Michael Davis
The Honorable Michael J. Davis '69
Senior United States Judge, United States District Court, Minneapolis, Minnesota

David J. Deno
David J. Deno '79, P '11
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Bloomin' Brands, Inc., Tampa, Florida

R. Lawrence Dessem
R. Lawrence Dessem '73
Professor, University of Missouri School of Law, Columbia, Missouri

Edward Donkor
Edward Donkor '04
Principal, Pinebrook Partners, New York, New York

Steven C. Euller
Steven C. Euller '71
Retired Corporate Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Cargill, Incorporated, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Timothy D. Hart-Andersen
Timothy D. Hart-Andersen P '11
Senior Pastor, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Michael A. Huber
Michael A. Huber '90
President and Managing Principal, Quadrangle Group LLC, New York, New York

Liz Hume
Patricia Elizabeth "Liz" Hume '92
Attending Physician, San Francisco Free Clinic, San Francisco, California

Patricia R. Hurley
Patricia R. Hurley '82, P '10
Board Secretary and Assistant General Counsel, Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts

Aukse Jurkute
Aukse Jurkute '98
Co-Head of Real Estate, Gaming and Lodging, EMEA | Bank of America Merrill Lynch, London, United Kingdom

Carrie Norbin Killoran
Carrie Norbin Killoran '94
President - Greater Milwaukee North/Sheboygan, Aurora Health Care, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Michael J. Klingensmith
Michael J. Klingensmith, P '10
Publisher, Star Tribune, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Chris Koch
D. Christian (Chris) Koch '87
CEO, The Carlisle Companies, Inc., Scottsdale, Arizona

Jeffrey B. Larson
Jeffrey B. Larson '79, P '10
Chief Investment Officer, Claragh Mountain Investments LP, Boston, Massachusetts

Mark Leonard
Mark G. Leonard '65, P '10
Retired Engineer, Hewlett Packard Corporation, Los Altos, California

Seth Levine
Seth J. Levine '94
Co-Founder and Managing Director, Foundry Group, Boulder, Colorado

M. A. Mortenson, Jr.
M. A. "Mort" Mortenson, Jr.
Past Chairman, M. A. Mortenson Company, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Lee A. Nystrom
Lee A. Nystrom '73, P '10
Owner, L.A. Nystrom Financial LLC, Minnetonka, Minnesota

Paul Olson
Paul L.H. Olson '72
Board Director and Executive Advisor, Liaison Technologies, North Oaks, Minnesota

Sandra R. Ortiz
Sandra R. Ortiz '97
Vice President of Corporate Capital Markets at Wilmington Trust, Wilmington, Delaware

Sara L. Peterson
Sara L. Peterson '72
Principal Counsel and Manager of Insured Litigation, Bechtel Corporation, San Francisco, California

James L. Reissner
James L. Reissner '62
Chairman, Activar, Inc., Minneapolis, Minnesota

Brian Rosenberg
Brian Rosenberg (ex officio)
President, Macalester College, St. Paul, Minnesota

Susan Dunst Schwartz
Susan Dunst Schwartz '71
Retired Senior Editor, Wolters Kluwer Financial Services, Glencoe, Illinois

Michael E. Sneed
Michael E. Sneed '81
Vice President, Global Corporate Affairs, Johnson & Johnson, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Paul J. Strand
Paul J. Strand '71
Retired Dean, College of Arts and Letters, San Diego State University, San Diego, California

Rebecca Van Dyck
Rebecca B. Van Dyck '91
Chief Marketing Officer, Oculus at Facebook, Palo Alto, California

Jon M. Walton
Jon M. Walton '69
Pastor, The First Presbyterian Church in the City of New York, New York

Annette Whaley
Annette M. Whaley ’75
Community Volunteer, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Related Documents

Articles of Incorporation
Restated Articles of Incorporation, approved by the Board of Trustees
May 22, 1992

Amended and Restated Bylaws, approved by the Board of Trustees
May 12, 2017