Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Toggle Navigation Menu

Presidential Leadership Award for Outstanding Seniors

This award recognizes seniors for their scholarship and outstanding contributions to the Macalester community throughout their college careers.  To be considered for this award, a student must:

  • Have a history of significant contributions in a variety of areas of campus life throughout their career at Macalester College;
  • Be a member of the senior class in good academic standing (GPA of 3.3 is required);
  • Have been a positive role model at Macalester College;
  • Have worked to promote one or more of the core values of the college (i.e. academic excellence, internationalism, multiculturalism, or service);
  • Be in good standing with the Title IX and Nondiscrimination office, as well as the Office of Student Affairs.

2021-2022 Award Recipients

  • Juan Galicia-Diaz
    Nominated by Ruth Janisch on behalf of the IGC, CEC, Bonner
  • Teddy Holt
    Nominated by Margaret Smith, OSLE and Josie Hurka, Disability Services
  • Katie McCarthy
    Nominated by Derek Johnson, IGC and Margaret Smith, OSLE
  • Shreya Nagdev
    Nominated by Marc Rodwogin, Chemistry
  • Kanyana Norah Ntagungira
    Nominated by Christie Manning, Director of Sustainability
  • Elika Somani
    Nominated by Paul Dosh, Political Science
  • Haley Vien
    Nominated by Ruth Janisch on behalf of IGC, CEC, Bonner
  • Victor Wang
    Nominated by Arthur Mitchell and Rivi Handler-Spitz, Asian Languages and Cultures
  • Brian Zou
    Nominated by Alicia Muñoz
2022 Presidential Leadership Award recipients at reception celebration with President Rivera, enjoying some much needed down time!

Last Year’s Award Recipients

2020-2021 Award Recipients

  • Willow Rousseau Fortunoff
  • Hannah Gilbert
  • Fatiya Kedir
  • Margaret Delia Moran
  • Likhwa Sifiso Ndlovu
  • Amanda Ortiz
  • Diana Paz Garcia
  • Kori Suzuki
  • Amy Vandervelde