Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Toggle Navigation Menu

The Hamre Award

The Hamre Award, named for Laurie Hamre, former Macalester College Vice President for Student Affairs, is presented annually to at least one member of each class. The award honors students who live out the mission of the college and promotes one or more of the stated values of Student Affairs at Macalester – equity and inclusion, wellbeing, integrative learning experiences, collaborative partnership. Nominees also demonstrate a genuine love of the community through service to the college.  To be considered for this award, a student must:

  • Have demonstrated efforts to promote college values during the current academic year;
  • Be enrolled full-time at Macalester College;
  • Be in good academic standing (minimum GPA of 2.7);
  • Be in good standing with the Title IX and Nondiscrimination office, as well as the Office of Student Affairs.

2023-2024 Award Recipients

  • Katie Frye ’24
  • Ebony Johnson ’24
  • Olivia Johnson ’25
  • Kalid Ali ’25
  • Dallas Watson ’26
  • Delilah Acosta ’27
  • Mihailo Vucetic ’27