Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Toggle Navigation Menu

The Civil Discourse Award

The Civil Discourse Award is given in recognition of efforts to promote on-campus civil discourse around issues related to difference and inclusivity. The award may be given to individuals, groups or organizations for their work to increase understanding and dialogue among members of the Macalester community through programming, education and negotiation.

2020-2021 Award Recipients

  • Juan Galicia-Diaz ’22
    Nominated by Ruth Janisch, Kofi Annan IGC; Sedric McClure, DML; in collaboration with Chiagoziem Anigbogu ‘21, Student Co-facilitator of Men of Color Collective
  • Tokosang Lokule ’22
    Nominated by OSLE 

Previous Award Recipients


  • Abe Asher ’20 (Portland, Oregon)
  • Kaden Bieger ’21 (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
  • Sasha Lewis-Norelle ’21 (Madison, Wisconsin)
  • William (Liam) McMahon ’20 (Milwaukee, Wisconsin)
  • Jennings Mergenthal ’21 (Tacoma, Washington)
  • Mars Peredo ’20 (Lakewood, Washington)
  • The Mac Weekly (Saint Paul, Minnesota)