The Security office provides safety and security services and emergency response on campus and is the designated law enforcement official on campus as required under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) of 1974.

The Security office develops and maintains the campus Emergency Operations Plan, a broad plan that establishes response protocol and a chain of command for emergencies that threaten the health and safety of the campus community or that disrupt its programs and activities. The plan covers emergencies ranging from natural disasters to terrorist attacks and conforms to state and federal regulations. The plan is reviewed and updated as situations, threats, and resources change.

Students, faculty and staff are encouraged to contact our office with any concerns or questions about the Department of Public Safey.

Command Staff

Jim Kurtz
Director of Public Safety
jkurtz2@macalester.edu

Bill Collumbien
Captain, Operations and Tech
wcollumb@macalester.edu

Drew Denning
Sergeant, Patrol Operations
ddenning@macalester.edu

Rodney Michael
Sergeant, Patrol Operations/Special Events
rmichael@macalester.edu

Public Safety Officers

Robert Kelly
Public Safety Officer
rkelly@macalester.edu

Connor Christenson
Public Safety Officer
cchrist3@macalester.edu

Cameron St. Pierre
Public Safety Officer
cstpierr@macalester.edu

Romeo Moua
Public Safety Officer
rmoua@macalester.edu

Tou Xiong
Public Safety Officer
txiong@macalester.edu


Lori Lindahl

Public Safety Officer
llindahl@macalester.edu

Trey Wiebusch
Public Safety Officer
twiebusc@macalester.edu

Brent Wiebusch
Public Safety Officer
bwiebusc@macalester.edu

Ravon Taylor
Public Safety Officer
rtaylor1@macalester.edu

Sanchez Brown
Public Safety Officer
sbrown7@macalester.edu

Craig Stern
Public Safety Officer
cstern1@macalester.edu

Mark Hudson
Public Safety Officer
mhudson2@macalester.edu

Suhaylah Purcell
Public Safety Officer
spurcell@macalester.edu