The Department of Public Safety provides security services and emergency response on campus and develops and maintains the campus Emergency Operations Plan, a broad plan that establishes response protocol and a chain of command for emergencies that threaten the health and safety of the campus community or that disrupt its programs and activities. The plan covers emergencies ranging from natural disasters to terrorist attacks and conforms to state and federal regulations. The plan is reviewed and updated as situations, threats, and resources change.

Students, faculty and staff are encouraged to contact our office with any concerns or questions about the Department of Public Safety.

Department of Public Safety Mission Statement:

The Department of Public Safety is committed to support the Macalester College Mission by providing a safe and secure environment for community members to live, learn and work.

Core Values:

Service to Campus Community-We value the opportunity to provide service in a manner that is fair, courteous, responsive and efficient. An attitude of respect for the protection of the worth, dignity and the rights of all we serve is the foundation of our department.

Professionalism-We will be professional in our daily actions, behavior, continued performance and maintain high standards of training and expertise by keeping abreast of new trends, standards, and technology in the field of public safety. We will maintain a dedication to duty and to maintaining public safety.

Responsibility/Accountability-We value the need for effective use of our resources and openness in our department’s communication with our College Community. We will be responsible for our actions and will ensure that our behavior earns the support and trust of all segments of the public.

Integrity-We value candor, honesty and ethical behavior in the members of our department. We are committed to uphold our positions of trust by maintaining the highest ethical standards as set forth in the law enforcement code of ethics.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion-We value and are dedicated to respecting differences, equitable practices and intentional inclusion to create an environment where our community feels welcomed and safe.

Command Staff

Jim Kurtz
Director of Public Safety
jkurtz2@macalester.edu

Bill Collumbien
Captain, Patrol Operations/Technology
wcollumb@macalester.edu

Drew Denning
Sergeant, Patrol Operations
ddenning@macalester.edu

Rodney Michael
Sergeant, Patrol Operations/Special Events
rmichael@macalester.edu

Full Time  Officers

Robert Kelly
Public Safety Officer
rkelly@macalester.edu

Connor Christenson
Public Safety Officer
cchrist3@macalester.edu

Cameron St. Pierre
Public Safety Officer
cstpierr@macalester.edu

Romeo Moua
Public Safety Officer
rmoua@macalester.edu

Tou Xiong
Public Safety Officer
txiong@macalester.edu

Part Time Officers

Sanchez Brown
Public Safety Officer
sbrown7@macalester.edu

Mark Hudson
Public Safety Officer
mhudson2@macalester.edu

Antwayn Hunter
Public Safety Officer
ahunter@macalester.edu

Part Time Officers

Jon Johnson
Public Safety Officer
jjohns25@macalester.edu

Michael Kenney
Public Safety Officer
mkenney2@macalester.edu

Xang Lee
Public Safety Officer
xlee@macalester.edu

Lori Lindahl
Public Safety Officer
llindahl@macalester.edu

Craig Stern
Public Safety Officer
cstern1@macalester.edu

Ravon Taylor
Public Safety Officer
rtaylor1@macalester.edu