What are the Macalester Alumni Awards?


Alumni Awards are one way by which the Macalester community comes together to honor alumni who best exemplify our college's values. The awards have been given annually to Macalester alumni since 1949 and the tradition continues today under the leadership of the Alumni Board Nominations Committee. All alumni, staff, faculty, and friends of the college are welcome to submit nominations.


Alumni nominations are accepted for four categories of alumni awards: the Catharine Lealtad ’15 Service to Society Award, the Charles J. Turck Global Citizen Award, the Distinguished Citizen Award, and the Young Alumni Award. The Alumni Service Award recipient is nominated by Macalester staff. 

Every year, we count on you to tell us which alumni deserve to be honored by Macalester with an Alumni Award. To submit a nomination, view the description, criteria, and nomination form for each of the categories online here.

2016 Alumni Awards

We will be honoring our 2016 Alumni Award winners at Breakfast with Brian on Saturday, June 4 during Reunion 2016. This years winners are: 

  • Distinguished Citizens: Beverly Robinson Allen '51, Jim Anderson '66, Louise Kloos Comfort '56, Darrel Gubrud '56, Don Mackenzie '66
  • Alumni Service Award: Lisa Peterson '81
  • Young Alumnus of the Year: Anna Min '09
  • Catharine Lealtad Service to Society Award: Jorge Salas '91
  • Charles J. Turck Global Citizen Award: Janet Collins Demiray '66

Breakfast with Brian is at 8:30 a.m. on Saturday, June 4 in the Alumni Gymnasium, Leonard Center. This is a ticketed event and you can register to attend online here

See our 2015 Alumni Award recipients