National Council of Geographic Education (NCGE) & American and Association of Geographers (AAG) Award for Excellence of Scholarship

The NCGE/AAG Award for Excellence of Scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding senior majoring in geography. Note: Each college/university geography department in North America is eligible to submit the name of its outstanding graduating senior. Criteria used in identifying nominees include:  academic performance, GTU membership and participation, departmental service, dedication, and enthusiasm.

Congratulations 2019 Recipient:
Hannah Nicole Shumway


Hildegard Binder Johnson Award in Geography

The Hildegard Binder Johnson award, named after the founder of the department, is presented annually  to academically outstanding junior geography majors.

Congratulations 2019 Recipients:
Lauren Weber, Emma Heth, Emma Carray, and Esther Ramsay


David A. Lanegran Award in Geography

The David A. Lanegran Award (formerly the Geography Department Merit Award), named after the department’s longest serving faculty member, is presented annually to senior geography majors  in recognition of their significant contributions to the community life of the department.

Congratulations 2019 Recipients:
Anna Bebbington, Katie Jolly, Ariana Jahiel, Henry McCarthy, and Henry Nieberg


The Golden Shovel

The traditional Golden Shovel award is presented each semester by a faculty member to the student or students who distinguish themselves in seminars, class discussions, and on field trips.