Presidential Leadership Award for Outstanding Seniors

  • Aramis Mendez ’17
  • Sean Mock ’17
  • Merrit Stueven ’17
  • Wei Fen Rachel Tan ’17

Hamre Award

  • Henry Kellison ’17
  • Margaret Poulos ’18
  • Ximena Silva-Alva ’20

Servant-Leader Award

  • Maxine Freedman ’18

Civil Discourse Award

  • Ollin Montes ’17

Global Citizenship Award

  • Farah AlHaddad ’17

Amy Ostermeier Fellowship

  • Maxine Freedman ’18

Other Recent Awards

  • Merrit Stueven ’17 was selected to participate in the Pi Sigma Alpha National Student Research Conference
  • Henry Kellison ’17 won the Udall Foundation Scholar award
  • Sarah Shoemaker ’15 received a Fulbright ETA in Malaysia
  • Eura Chang received a Fulbright ETA in Senegal to teach English
  • Irene Gibson ’15 received a Student Research Fulbright to Kuwait
  • Zachary Avre ’14 received a Harry S. Truman Scholarship
  • Rebecca Galet ’14 received a Fulbright ETA in Germany to teach English

Political Science Awards


  • Merrit Stueven ’17

Peter Weisman Award

  • Wei Fen Rachel Tan ’17

Brent Williams Award

  • Jhader Aguad ’17

Political Science Leadership & Service Award

  • Farah AlHaddad ’17

Political Science Academic Excellence Award

  • Sever Holter ’17

Excellence in Scholarly Writing

  • Emily Royer ’17

Dorothy Dodge Scholarship

  • Natalie Platt ’17
  • Ana Diaz ’18
  • Katherine Grant ’17
  • Margaret Poulos ’18

amanda janoo, map of india

Fulbright Scholar

Jamila Humphrie ’11, a double major in Hispanic Studies and Political Science, will spend up to 25 hours each week assisting an English as a Foreign Language teacher at a University or Binational Center in Brazil. When she is not in the classroom she hopes to explore through an oral history project how race and ethnicity have impacted the school system, classrooms and teacher’s experiences in Brazil.


Humphrey-Mondale Award

Awarded to the outstanding student or students majoring in Political Science whose careers exemplify the highest standards of scholarship and education for service to society.

Weisman Award:

Awarded to the students majoring in Political Science who have demonstrated, by working with underprivileged, humanitarian concern and commitment.

Williams Award:

Awarded to Political Science majors who have had debate and speech experience and have been active in College and community affairs.

Academic Excellence Award:

This Award honors the graduating Political Science major who best exemplifies the values of ÔÇťAcademic Excellence.

Leadership and Service Award:

This award honors the graduating Political Science major who has best exemplified leadership and service to the Political Science Department throughout his or her college career.

Award for Excellence in Scholarly Writing:

This award honors the graduating Political Science major who has submitted the best essay or honors thesis in the preceding academic year.