Prizes are awarded annually to history students in recognition of scholastic achievements, accomplishments and proficiency.

The Armajani Prize in Global History
The Holmes Prize in History of the Americas
The Dupre Prize in European History

Established by the Department of History to honor former distinguished colleagues. Cash awards to distinguished senior majors.

The Yahya Armajani Endowed Prize
Established by colleagues, friends and former students of James Wallace Professor Emeritus Yahya Armajani to honor him on his retirement. A cash award to an international student.

The Case Prize in Western History
Established by Leland D. Case ’22. A cash award to a student for original research or study of western American history.

The Kathleen Rock Hauser Prize in Women’s and Gender History
Established by the Women Historians of the Midwest and by Dr. Donald and Mrs. Irene Rock in memory of Kathleen Rock Hauser ’62. A cash prize to students who have made a significant undergraduate contribution to women’s history.

The Ernest R. Sandeen Memorial Prize
Established by colleagues, family and friends. Cash awards to students who have completed an original project reflecting exceptional skill, imagination, and effort, all hallmarks of the scholar for whom the prize is named.

The Teresita Martínez Vergne Memorial Prize
Established in 2014 by her daughter, Irene Toro Martínez, with additional support from colleagues, family and friends. Cash awards to students for original research or study of Caribbean and Latin American history.

Download a list of history prize recipients from 1980-2018.