76b01928-fcd6-4132-9ebd-9ba4e0956c2a
Turck Hall

Contact Residential Life


651-696-6215

Spring 2018

January Break Check-in Information

For students who are approved to check-in between January 2 and 14, 2018  for a college activity:

Check-in Before January 2nd

Call 651-696-8237

Provide your name ID number and room assignment to RA. (FOR APPROVED INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS ONLY.)

Check-ins From January 2rd  – January 14th

Monday- Friday

9am-1pm Second Floor Campus Center Information Desk

3pm-5pm Second Floor Campus Center Information Desk

6pm-10pm at the Doty Hall Office

After 10pm Call 651-696-8237

Saturday and Sunday

1pm-3pm-Doty Hall Office

8-10pm Doty Hall Office

After 10pm Call 651-696-8237

Check-ins January 15, Martin Luther King Jr. Campus Holiday*

1pm-3pm Doty Hall Office

8-10pm Doty Hall Office

After 10pm Call 651-696-8237

January 16th Halls Open

* Note: On Monday, January 15 (Martin Luther King Jr. Day) College Offices are closed including the Residential Life office.

Bon Appétit/Café Mac Meals  

The first January break board meal is breakfast on Tuesday, January 2, 2018.  Only students who have been approved for January Break housing and have been on a board plan for the entire academic year will be on the meal plan during January Break.

Meal Plan Activation:

Monday - Friday arrivals:  If you check-in before 11:00 A.M. your meal plan will be active by the lunch period.  If you check-in between 11:00 A.M and 4:00 P.M., your meal plan will be active beginning with dinner.   If you check-in after 4:00 P.M. your meal plan will begin with the first meal of the following day.

Weekend and Holiday arrivals: If your expected arrival date (the date you provided on the application) is over the weekend you may experience a 24 hour delay in the activation of your January meal plan.

Café Mac Hours January 2 - 16, 2018                               

Breakfast 8:30am-9:30am (Monday-Friday; No breakfast on weekends)

Lunch: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Dinner: 5:00-6:00 p.m.

Grille- will be open from 8am-1pm on Monday-Friday during January Break.

* Spring board plan will start with Breakfast on Wednesday January 17th 2018

Safety First!

Things to Remember:

   There are fewer students on campus during January Break. Please be careful and aware of your surroundings at all times.

   Do not let individuals you do not know into the residence halls.

   Do not prop exterior building doors open.

Housing Calendars 2017-2018

Fall 2017

August 18 Friday - Preseason housing opens for students approved for early activities.

August 31, Thursday - New First-Year and Transfer students arrive.  Orientation begins.

September 3, Sunday -  Upper class students return for Fall semester.  

September 5, Tuesday  -  Classes Begin

October 13, Friday through October 14, Saturday - Family Fest

October 26, Thursday, through  October 29, Sunday - Fall Break; Halls stay open, food service in Cafe Mac and Grille is open.

November 22, Wednesday through November 26, Sunday - Thanksgiving Break;  Halls stay open; Food Service in Cafe Mac is open with adjusted holiday hours.

December 13, Wednesday  - Classes End

December 14, Thursday - Atrium Market, Scotty's and Nessie's closed for winter break.

December 14, Thursday, through Wednesday, December 20 - Study Days and Final Exams

December 20, Wednesday - Food Service ends after dinner. Cafe Mac and Grill, close for winter break

December 21, Thursday - Residence Halls, Houses, and Apartments close by Noon.

Winter Break December 21, 2017  through January 15, 2018

January 2, Tuesday - January Break Housing Opens  - For International students with permanent addresses outside the USA and students approved for athletic, academic, and Macalester sponsored break programs and activities. 

January 2, Tuesday - January Break Housing opens and dining begins with breakfast in Cafe Mac. January Break Housing Information and Request Form.

Housing Calendar Spring 2018

January 16, 2018, Tuesday - Halls open for spring semester

January 18, Thursday - Spring Classes Begin

March 10, Saturday - Spring Break, Cafe Mac closed. Grille open with limited hours

March 18, Sunday - Cafe Mac opens at dinner

March 19, Monday - Classes resume

March 20, Tuesday - Room Selection period begins

May 8, Tuesday - Halls close by noon for non-graduates

May 13, Sunday - Halls close by noon for graduates