Front entrance to Turck Hall
Turck Hall

Contact Residential Life


651-696-6215

*In the case of an emergency (after business hours & on weekends) please reach out to Campus Security at 651-696-6555.

Preseason Check in Information

Fall Housing Semester 2018- September 2 – December 20, 2018

Check-in for New Students – Halls open for new students on Thursday, August 30

Move in 8:00 am to 3:00 pm – please contact Residential Life if you will arrive after 3:00 pm.

We have suggested check-in times based on your room assignment. Please know these times are suggestions only and you are welcome to check-in anytime between 8 am-3 pm August 30. If you are arriving after 3 pm please let Residential Life know and we will arrange to check you in when you arrive.  

Dupre Hall check-in 8am-10am

Turck Hall check-in 10am-12pm

Doty Hall check-in 12pm-2pm

Bigelow Hall check-in 12pm-2pm

We look forward to your arrival on August 30

Halls close at the end of Fall semester: Noon,  Thursday, December 20, 2018.  Halls open for spring semester on Tuesday, January 22, 2019.

Housing Information for New Students

Check-in for Returning Students  – Halls open for returning students on Sunday, September 2,

Check-In Hours:  Sunday & Monday, September 2 & 3 – 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM and 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Check-In at your Residence Hall Office.Use your Mac ID to enter the residence halls:

  • Bigelow Hall Office if your fall space is in 30Mac, Bigelow, Wallace
  • Kirk Hall Office (section 1) if your fall space is in Kirk Hall or Veggie Co-op
  • GDD Hall Office if your fall space is in GDD, GCA and Language Houses, Summit House
  • Dupre Hall Office if your fall space is in Dupre

Storage Out Information
Sunday, September 2  – 10-11 a.m.; 2-3 p.m. and 8-10 p.m.
Monday, September 3 – 10-11 a.m.; 2-3 p.m. and 8-10 p.m.

Residential Life  Calendar 2018-2019

Fall 2018

August 17  Friday – Preseason housing opens for athletes and other students approved for early activities.

August 30, Thursday – New First-Year, Transfer, and International Exchange students arrive.  Orientation begins.

September 2, Sunday –  Upper class students return for Fall semester.

September 4, Tuesday  –  Classes Begin

October 12, Friday through October 13, Saturday – Family Fest

October 25, Thursday, through  October 28, Sunday – Fall Break; Halls stay open, food service in Cafe Mac and Grille is open.

November 21, Wednesday through November 25, Sunday – Thanksgiving Break;  Halls stay open; Food Service in Cafe Mac is open with adjusted holiday hours.

December 12, Wednesday  – Classes End

December 12, Thursday – Atrium Market, Scotty’s and Nessie’s closed for winter break.

December 13, Thursday, through Wednesday, December 19 – Study Days and Final Exams

December 19, Wednesday – Food Service ends after dinner. Cafe Mac and Grill, close for winter break

December 20, Thursday – Residence Halls, Houses, and Apartments close by Noon.

Housing Calendar Spring 2019

January 22, 2019, Tuesday – Halls open for spring semester

January 24, Thursday – Spring Classes Begin

February 1,  Applications open for students applying to Language Houses or Specialty Areas

March 8, Room assignments to Language Houses and Specialty Areas finalized.

March 16 , Saturday – Spring Break, Cafe Mac closed. Grille open with limited hours

March 24, Sunday – Cafe Mac opens at dinner

March 25, Monday – Classes resume

March 25, Monday, Room selection begins. Rising juniors and rising seniors Homesteading and Summit House Draw

March 26, Tuesday – Room Selection:  Rising juniors and rising seniors

March 28, Thursday – Room Selection: Groups and doubles draw for rising sophomores

March 29, Friday – Room Selection: Singles draw for rising sophomores

May 9, Thursday – May 13, Monday Final Exams

May 14 Tuesday, Halls close by noon for non-graduates

May 19, Sunday – Halls close by noon for graduates

Winter Break December 21, 2018  through January 21, 2019

January 2, Wednesday – January Break Housing Opens  – For International students with permanent addresses outside the USA and students approved for athletic, academic, and Macalester sponsored break programs and activities.

January 2, Wednesday – January Break dining begins with breakfast in Cafe Mac. January Break Housing Information and Request Form.